Fans were shocked when Ryan Reynolds released a bombshell trailer for the third movie in the Deadpool series with Jackman returning as Wolverine. In typical Ryan Reynolds fashion, the actor casually invites Jackman to play Wolverine “one more time.” The trailer sent shockwaves throughout the Marvel fandom. Fans were ecstatic to find out that Wolverine, a mutant and a member of the X-Men, will finally join the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The implications for the future of the whole Marvel universe were so huge that even Kevin Feige was excited. However, some audiences were asking why was Jackman coming out of retirement. The actor previously expressed his desire for Logan to be his last movie after 17 years of playing the character. While promoting his new movie “The Son”, Jackman sat down with Deadline and answered a few questions regarding his return as Wolverine. The actor also revealed what led to his decision to play as Logan in the MCU. “Well, I was 20 minutes into watching Deadpool and I had just announced, literally, a few weeks before that Logan was going to be my last, which I fully intended. And then I was like, Uh-oh,” Jackman shared. “And here’s maybe a bit of a hangover from Florian. I was just driving out to the beach. It was mid-August, I had a week off from the show [The Music Man on Broadway], my first week off in eight, nine months, 10 months. And it came to me like, “I really want to do that.” And that was it.” the actor continues.

♬ Godspeed - Xenia { “@context”: “https://schema.org”, “@type”: “VideoObject”, “name”: “Hugh Jackman reveals reason for his return as Wolverine”, “description”: “The iconic superhero is coming back in Deadpool 3 after a brief retirement.”, “thumbnailUrl”: [ “https://p16-sign-sg.tiktokcdn.com/obj/tos-alisg-p-0037/09dfd702e6ea4dec900d599548230ec3_1670327120?x-expires=1670349600&x-signature=s19bhv1dlyQOze37w0b9EUDdv2c%3D” ], “uploadDate”: “2022-12-5”, “duration”: “PT30S”, “contentUrl”: “https://www.tiktok.com/@xfire.com/video/7174000301714787586", “embedUrl”: "” } Jackman immediately called up Reynolds to let him know that he was in. “As soon as I arrived at the beach, I rang Ryan [Reynolds] just to see what the hell was going on. And then here we are. It was so quick.” The X-Men actor also shared some humorous information regarding his co-star in the upcoming Deadpool 3. “And trust me, there’s not a morning I don’t wake up where Ryan Reynolds is outside my house with posters saying, “Please.” He’s constantly asking me about it. And I was like, “Dude, I’m done. I’m done, I’m done, I’m done, I’m done, I’m done.” So then when he rang me [back], he was like, ‘Are you serious?” So yeah.” The pair worked together in X-Men Origins: Wolverine and will be reprising their roles in Deadpool 3. Reynolds already hinted at the return of Logan as early as Deadpool 2. It may have been just an idea back then but the actor foresaw the move to the MCU and proceeded to clean up the timeline. Jackman added in the interview that he was decided on retiring the character but also wanted to be a part of a Deadpool project. “I’m a terrible poker player. All this time I was saying I was done, I really meant it. But anyway, somewhere deep down, this idea was obviously lurking and brewing.” Deadpool 3 is set to release on November 8, 2024. However, there may be scheduling changes as Spider-Man 4 is reportedly being fast-tracked and is releasing before the third Deadpool movie.

Hugh Jackman reveals reason for his return as Wolverine - 19Hugh Jackman reveals reason for his return as Wolverine - 9Hugh Jackman reveals reason for his return as Wolverine - 10Hugh Jackman reveals reason for his return as Wolverine - 32